History (Whitby Minor Hockey)


Organized hockey began in Whitby in 1943 and has been a proud member of the OMHA for over 79 years. Brooklin and Whitby hockey associations amalgamated in 1971. Whitby Minor Hockey Association’s unsurpassed reputation has grown extensively. The Association currently boasts a membership of over 2,000 players that encompass over 100 House League teams and 40 Representative teams.

WMHA takes pride in providing the opportunity for all players to participate in various levels of hockey, consistent with each player’s level of skill and interest. 

The Whitby Wildcats are proud of their illustrious alumnae who went on to play in the AHL/NHL – Matt Poitras, Ryan Winterton, Cole Perfetti, Jonah Gadjovich, James Neal, Wayne Primeau, Keith Primeau, Joe Nieuwendyk, Paul Ranger, Jay Harrison, Jamie Allison, Adam Foote and Gary Roberts.

Former NHL players also include Ross Lowe, Dunc Wilson, Peter Vipond, Mike Keenan and Brad Dalgamo.